Marathon Recap (video)

October 20, 2010 at 11:17 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags:

I realize this may come across as somewhat odd to a reader who is used to reading…you know, words.  A video?  More over, a video where it’s just me talking?!

Oh, yes.  When Sam and I decided to record our memories of the marathon (just for our own mementos), I realized I was saying everything I would sit down to write to you.  Even though I may not know you from a ham sandwich (or a PB&J for you vegetarians ;)), sometimes, hearing the recap firsthand is more powerful than reading it.

Besides, don’t you ever wonder what my voice sounds like ? 😉

So, without further ado….oh, wait.  Just kidding.  A little bit of background: Sam’s dad and sister (Katie) were running the Columbus Half Marathon while we ran the full, so when I say I saw them…I mean on the course, running.  Also, we recorded this while eating dinner, so please excuse the occasional odd swallow.  And finally, emotions were still high when we taped this.  I will not apologize for being a mush, but I will warn you.  Okay.  GO!

Part 1:

Part 2:

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I loved this. You seriously have me in tears right now. I can totally relate to the ending of your video – I think there may be another one in me too. I didn’t think so on sunday when I finished, but after recapping and seeing pictures and reading everyone elses recaps I think I want to. I’m sorry yours wasn’t what you had expected, but you are a marathoner! That is the important thing here. If they were easy then everyone would be doing them. So be proud of your accomplishments and your hard work! And how cool that you and your hubs were able to do the whole thing together! Cherish that forever! 🙂

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! YOU DID IT!!!! WOO HOOOOOOOO!!! I loved your video recap. So much of what you described was exactly what I experienced my first marathon too. The whole lonely thing…so been there, both marathons and both halfs. Must just come with the territory. And Yeah…you have another one in you…maybe even another 10. And they will all be different and exactly the same. Congrats again. I loved reading about your journey.

  3. oh Bethany! I just teared up listening to you speak about your marathon experience. Congratulations to you and Sam! Awesome job! Keep that forward momentum mentality, you can do it!

  4. Well said 🙂 Congrats Bethany!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.