A Thank You Note

October 17, 2010 at 5:33 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Dear Reader,

While you’re reading this, I’m either running my first marathon or recovering from it (With family and friends? In the hospital? We’ll see!). I wanted to take a quiet moment to say thank you.

Yes, thank you.

Yes, you!

I started this blog as a means of remaining accountable to a goal I had set for myself. It was a goal I couldn’t believe I had the courage to utter aloud:

“Some day, I want to run a marathon.”

In the time you’ve been reading this blog, you may have fallen under the impression that I’m this super goal-oriented person who rarely fails to see something through – that once I commit to an idea, I persevere until I accomplish it.

That is SO not true.

I’m like every other person on this planet who has used the words, “some day” as a way of delaying the need for the dedication, motivation and hard work it takes to realize a goal. I’m no life slacker, but I certainly don’t go around saying things like, “I’d like to run a marathon” all the time.

This was a one time utterance.

But one time was the only time it took for Sam to look at me and say:

“So do it.”

Here was my husband, looking plainly at me, believing that all I had to do was do it.

So do it.

So I am doing it. I stopped putting off things until “some day” and started working toward a goal I wanted. I realized that there wasn’t going to be a “some day” if I didn’t start believing in myself and moving in the direction of a life where I took good care of myself, valued my abilities and believed (as easily as Sam) that I could do it.

That’s where you come in.

Whether I know you, if we’re related or if we’re friends, or our only connection is through an Ethernet cable, I owe you a sincere and heartfelt thank you. If you’ve commented, clicked or emailed – thank you.

Not a post would go by where I did not close my laptop astounded by the fact that there were people stopping by my little corner of the blogosphere because they too thought I was capable of making it to the starting line; people who supported my ambition.

It doesn’t matter how this marathon goes. It isn’t important to me to finish in a certain time or make a specific place. It doesn’t even matter if I have to crawl to the end.

What matters, deep down, is that it stopped being something I was putting off for “some day”. “Some day” will not come to you – you have to go after it. Whatever it is that you have been delaying until “some day”, I challenge you to start working toward it. The gift of recognizing and being surprised at your own capabilities is too amazing to never experience.

So I’m going to run my little rear off – I’m going to count on 18 weeks of training to carry me through. I’m probably going to cry and I’m definitely going to sweat. I’m going to be thrilled when I see my family and friends cheering me on and even more excited when I can hug Sam after it’s all over and tell him , “So, I did it”. And you can be sure when my foot hits that finish line, I will yell loud and clear:

TODAY is my SOME DAY.”

Thank you so much, for everything. I’ll see you soon. 🙂

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I know you will do well and you have inspired me with what you share. I can’t wait to hear about the marathon. Hope you and Sam do great!

  2. Congratulations for making it to race day! I hope the day went well, that you enjoyed yourself, and that any tears shed were happy tears!

  3. You made it! Way to GO… and go and go! I can’t wait to read all about it!

    Lynette


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

