Switch Up

September 28, 2010 at 9:38 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Training Calls For: 5 miles

Miles Run So Far: 319.2 (holy cow)

Days Left: 19 (eeeeeeek!)

This day is less than halfway underway and already, I’m switchin’ it up, flip-flopping things left and right.

I woke up this morning and was pretty proud of myself for getting out of bed with the first alarm (not the second, third or fifth — curses to the inventor of the snooze button!).  If you have a spouse, the alarm clock conundrum is even worse.  You lay there and think, “well, I’ll get up when his alarm goes off.”  Then you lay there and wonder if you really know what time he’s waking up.  What if it’s later than you planned?  What if it messes up your schedule?  Is this wager worth it?  Then you decide you don’t really care and fall back asleep, hoping for the best.

In this case, I beat my demons and got my bum out of bed.  My running clothes were all laid out, all I had to do was chow down on my pre-run snack, dress and hit the door.

Except that it was raining.  Not just a little, but a bonafide downpour.  I know, I know.  All the “experts” *cough cough Hal Higdon cough cough* say you need to follow your training runs no matter the weather because who knows what the climate will be come race day.  I agree with this.  It’s not like on the day of the rain, I can convince my friends the race organizers to hold off 15,000 people from running because I’m not really a fan of puddles.

But, this morning at 5:30, it was dark, too. *scared childish face*

That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.  I’m going to run those 5 miles tonight.  Chances are it will still be raining, but at least it won’t be pitch black.

Since I suddenly had an extra hour on my hands, I crawled back in bed for half of it and used the other half to make dinner for tonight: lasagna.  I figured I was just trading the hour of running for the hour of lasagna baking and it will all even out and I will still be late in the end.

Switching up running for cooking though, lead to a lackluster breakfast:

Plain ol’ cereal.  Kashi Go Lean Crunch, but still.  Boooooring.  After making a whole pan of lasagna, I had a hard time thinking about dirtying up even more dishes for a stellar breakfast.

Sometimes I like to think if every other meal is something good, the ones in between can be boring.  Last night’s dinner was spectacular, so this morning’s breakfast can be straight from a box.

Spaghetti squash!  If you haven’t tried spaghetti squash, we need to talk.  It’s probably the easiest meal I put together.  15 minutes, start to finish.  For this dish, I used the following:

🙂 one 3 pound spaghetti squash (enough for me, La Samuel and leftovers)

🙂 one ripe tomato, chopped

🙂 one onion, chopped

🙂 one pepper (color of your choice — I had orange on hand)

🙂 one tsp. minced garlic

🙂 Feta cheese

Salt, pepper and EVOO.

It’s as simple as this: stab the squash.  Seriously, poke air holes in it (four or five) and stick it in the microwave.  I think I nuked this one for about 8 minutes total.  It should be soft to the touch.  While the squash is getting squishy, saute the onion, pepper and garlic in a pan with a little EVOO.  Pull now-squished squash out of microwave (probably using hot pads) and cut lengthwise.  Scrape out seeds, discard.  Using fork, pull the squash flesh away from the skin.  It will come apart in strands, hence the brilliant name: SPAGHETTI SQUASH.

Toss in big bowl with onion, pepper and garlic, top with tomato and sprinkle with Feta.   Season with salt and pepper.  Pat yourself on the back for a delicious, healthy meal prepared in the blink of an eye.

🙂  When you make a good meal in a short amount of time, it’s like a Monopoly game pass: “You made great meal and still had time for yourself — proceed to breakfast!”

Even if breakfast is boring. 😉

Have a great day, wherever you are, whatever you’re doing — whether it’s raining or not!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. raining here too. I don’t like getting up early to run when it is dark/cold/raining either.

    • It’s just kind of a buzz-kill when you get all dressed and stretched and then look outside and think, “Ugh. I have to run in THAT?”


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

